Board of Trustees 2016-2017

Executive Board

President: Bruce DuBoff
Bruce DuBoff has been the SLMS for Pennsauken Intermediate School and Howard M. Phifer Middle School since 2002; he taught English at Pennsauken High School before that. He has twice won Pennsauken’s PTA Parent’s Choice Award (2005, 2014) for his service to Pennsauken’s students and community. Bruce is a frequent presenter at the NJEA, AECT, West Jersey Reading Council, and NJASL conventions. He is the former NJASL Webmaster; he is also the Communications Chair for the SMT division of AECT. Bruce is proud to serve NJASL and he is excited about both his new leadership role and about chairing next year’s annual convention.

President-Elect:  Lisa Bakanas

Lisa Bakanas has been a School Library Media Specialist for 8 years at Cherokee High School in Marlton, NJ. She received her Master of Arts in School and Public Librarianship from Rowan University. She received the NJASL Villy Gandhi award in 2011 and became an Executive Board Member of NJASL in 2012, serving as Corresponding Secretary. The past two years she has served on the NJASL Executive Board as Member-at-Large, co-chairing two NJASL Spring Meetings and volunteering on many NJASL committees.

Vice President: Christina Cucci
  • Immediate Past President:  Janet Clark
  • Recording Secretary: Michelle McGreivey
  • Treasurer: Jean Stock
  • Member-at-Large: Elizabeth Ullrich
  • Member-at-Large: Beth Thomas

Committee Chairs

  • Finance: Jean Stock
  • Membership: Leigh Woznick, Betsy Quinn
    • Student Affiliate: Donna Swift
    • Credentials: Mary Jane McNally
    • New Member Orientation: Pat Slemmer
    • NJASL-R: Leslie Blatt and Susan Titlebaum
  • Nominations/Elections: Janet Clark
  • Professional Development Resources: Deb Schiano
    • Standards: Amy Rominiecki
    • Urban Libraries: Ellen Pozzi
    • Intellectual Freedom: Arlen Kimmelman
    • Legislative: Angela (Ang) Crockett Coxen
  • Public Relations: Pat Massey
    • Newsletter/Bookmark: Kim Laskey, Editor
    • Electronic Discussion List Sub-Committee: Kay Baggs
    • Professional Outreach: Open.
    • Website: Michele Bond
  • Scholarships and Awards: Karen Brill
    • Enthusiastic Reader: Leslie Blatt and Karen Brill
  • Standing Conference Committee: Leslie Blatt and Fran King
    • Authors & Illustrators: Pam Gunter

Formal Affiliates

  • AASL Affiliate Assembly: LaDawna Harrington
  • AECT Liaison: Leslie Blatt
  • ISTE: Elissa Malespina
  • New Jersey Education Association: Angela (Ang) Crockett Coxen


  • Charter/Independent Schools: Laura Doughty. 
  • County Liaison: Karen Crist
  • LibraryLinkNJ: Michelle McGreivey
  • Library Services and Technology Act Advisory Committee of NJ: Mary Lewis
  • New Jersey Center for the Book: Phyllis Anker
  • New Jersey Library Association (NJLA): Carol Collins
  • New Jersey Library Network: Hilda Weisburg, Kathy Schalk-Greene
  • New Jersey State Department of Education: Open
  • New Jersey State Library: Hilda Weisburg
  • Vendors: Leslie Blatt

Copyright © 2017 New Jersey Association of School Librarians

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software